Anchored Putters

Anchored Putters

With all this discussion about the new rule in effect, do you understand what it means?  This link explains exactly what is going into effect January 2016.  The rule is going to be 14-1B stating that “a golfer in making a stroke must not anchor the club, either ‘directly’ or by the use of an anchor point.

More importantly for the discussion of golf, the decision was made without any statistical data.  Surprising?  Not really.  Particularly because of the lack of authority in golf.  Next up for discussion- why TV viewers can influence a ruling in golf?